Hygge Fail

Earlier this year, I heard about the Danish concept of hygge. It immediately resonated with me and I began to wonder why everyone isn’t on the hygge train. Just look at this list of what hygge encourages us to infuse more of into our lives.

Hygge 1

Hygge is all about coziness and creating relaxing indoor and outdoor experiences void of our electronic devices. It’s about long walks to connect with nature, dim soothing lighting, candles, warm beverages, fires, books, loved ones, oversized sweaters, soft blankets, fuzzy socks and cuddles with our furry pets.

I’ve been trying to be more intentional in my marriage. I want to be a better wife so I’ve been looking for new and different ways to bond with my spouse.  I figured I would try and bring elements of hygge into our home. However, doing this isn’t the challenging part. The real test would be getting my productive husband on-board. He likes to keep busy while he’s at home. I like to lounge around when I’m home. This creates a divide i our home. He’s usually off fixing, cleaning or improving something or cooking us a delicious meal while I’m laying in bed reading, sprawled on the couch watching tv or … honestly? I don’t know what the heck else I do… oh! I know… writing a blog entry!

About a week ago, I proposed that we switch of the TV and our phones at 8pm and spend an hour outside in our patio with some twinkly lights, candles and either some herbal tea or wine. I figured maybe we could read books, talk to each other, just enjoy the silence or if he’s up for it, maybe we can play some backgammon. When I proposed this idea to him over a text message mid-day while we were both at work he responded with “OK”. I almost couldn’t believe it!

Let me tell you how our first attempt at hygge went. It was more like 8:45 when we turned off the TV and put aside our phones to go spend some time in our patio. I made us both some tea. He opted for chamomile and I for peppermint. He didn’t want the twinkly lights on, so I lit a couple candles instead. After a couple minutes of observing how silent it was our dog decided to join us in the patio which made all the neighbor’s dogs sense his presence and they all started barking non-stop. I began reading my book and within 5 minutes my husband had fallen asleep and in another 5, so had I. HYGGE FAIL!

After dozing off in the patio, I woke up and decided we should go to bed. By 9:30 p.m. we were in bed, lights off, floating back to sleep. I guess the lesson I learned was that when we put away our phones, turned off the tv and the lights our bodies got the signal that it was ok to shut off and go to sleep. We were both obviously tired and in need of extra sleep and due to our conscious effort to try something different we both got an extra 1.5-2 hours of sleep that night which to us is valuable.

I’ve found this 7 Day Challenge, but I’m taking it as a 7 week challenge. Last week I tackled item #1. I’m female so tackling item #2 this week won’t be a problem at all. I’m actually going to order said candles that I have saved in my amazon cart after I complete this blog entry. Week 3 which will be the first week of August I’ll have to create something. We’ll see what I come up with…..

Monday_-Plan_a_night_without_any_screens_switch_those_phones_off_get_out_the_board_games_or_curl_up_with_a_book__Add_music_and_wine_or_hot_chocolate_-_Tuesday_-Treat_yourself_t

There is so much information available on the internet about hygge I love reading all about it. What’s your favorite element or aspect of this concept?

 

One thought on “Hygge Fail

  1. I had to check out your blog and this is funny because I also just learned about the concept of hygge (try pronouncing it ug!) I try to live for this and I am glad for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

