When Barcelona Beckons…

We arrived in Barcelona by train. Our hotel was in the Poble Nou region of town which to me seemed to be a little off the beaten path, but I’m so glad we booked there because the view from our penthouse view of the city with it’s backdrop mountains and the Sagrada Familia jutting out in the center of all the buildings was outstanding. The room across from ours, my father’s room had ocean views so we had the best of both worlds.  Stepping out the front door of this hotel we could walk straight down one walk street past shops and restaurants to the beach.

Barca Map

My father currently lives in a landlocked country and having lived in coastal locations for the majority of his life I always love seeing his reactions to being near the sea. I loved the beach scene in Barcelona, especially in the Barcelonetta area. People were out and about, walking, biking, laying out and enjoying life. It reminded me of the years I spent living a block from the beach in Hermosa Beach. The MareMagnum area sort of reminded me of the Redondo Beach Pier but what much nicer. What Barcelona had that we don’t out in California was the historical buildings the Las Ramblas spilling over with tourists and the gigantic yachts docked in the marina.

My biggest regret while we were in Barcelona was saving our visit to the Mercat de la Boqueria for the day after Easter and not realizing that it would be closed. I was quite bummed about missing out on that. We also royally messed up by not going inside the Sagrada Familia, not going inside the Gaudi buildings we walked past, not visiting Park Guell or any museums. Our time in Barcelona was so short that we concentrated on seeing as much as we could and soaking up as much as we could without spending too much time on any one thing.

 

On our Iberia flight back home I watched another Spanish Language film. This one was called “Tengo Ganas De Ti” about a guy coming back to Barcelona after having been away in London. He meets a girl and falls in love with her, but then runs into his former love he went to London to get away from.  I really loved this movie and came to learn that it was a sequel to another film called “3 Metros Sobre El Cielo” which was about the same guy and his first love. I haven’t watched the prequel yet but it’s on my list.

2169517

 

Leave a Reply

