Madrid – Best Thing I Ate

I can’t stop thinking about the food we ate in Spain.

When I talk to people about our trip and broach the topic of food, I feel compelled to tell people about the best thing I ate. I’ve gotten asked if it was the suckling pig at Botin. No! I didn’t find it fitting to eat anything that was still suckling when it was killed for my consumption.  I was asked if the best thing I ate were the churros con chocolate from San Gines. While the churros and chocolate were good, they didn’t change my life. I also got asked a lot about the Jamon. I think people just enjoy saying Jamon because they get to pronounce it as Ha-moan. Jamon is great, there’s no disputing it, but I only ate it in places where I didn’t have to see the pig thigh being shaved in front of my face.

Oddly enough the best thing I ate was Pan con Tomate. I would have never guessed that I’d enjoy a piece of bread with squished tomato smeared on it. Perhaps I liked it because I was abstaining from bread and tomato for the 2 months leading up to this trip?

Pan con Tomate is a traditional Catalan breakfast so I would have assumed we would have happened upon it in Barcelona, but we kept bumping into it in Madrid. I’m not complaining.

pan-con-tomate1
Image from Spoonwithme.com

It still astounds me how something so simple managed to rock my world. Five basic ingredients:bread, olive oil, tomato, salt and garlic that’s all it is. If I could physically afford to eat bread every day without starting to resemble the Michelin man, this dish would be a staple in my daily diet.

Although pan con tomate was the best thing I ate in Madrid, bigtime props and an honorable mention also have to go out to Patatas Bravas!

Leave a Reply

