Four Food Blogs that Make me Drool…

With four days left until Christmas I wanted to give shout outs to four food blogs that have inspired me to up my food and beverage game in the coming year.

I shouldn’t start with the The Food Charlatan because if you click on the link you will get lost on her site looking at recipe after recipe. What I like about this blog is her style of writing. It’s so conversational, down to earth and real. What I dislike about this blog is that despite having 3 kids she still manages to cook and bake and blog. I have a total of zero childrens and I can’t seem to get my act together to cook for my husband. He pretty much does 98% of the cooking in our household. I can’t wait to try her recipe for Blackberry Ricotta Pizza with Basil. It looks SO GOOD! Can she just open a restaurant so we can go order this stuff and eat it all up?

Here’s another blogger who juggles kids, a career and her blog Thoughtfully Simple. What drew me to this blog is her affinity towards cocktails and keeping things “simple”. Around Thanksgiving and Christmas I like to enjoy cocktails that use seasonal ingredients like pumpkins, apples, cranberries and cinnamon. Since Moscow mules are currently super popular and so lots of people have been going apple picking the last couple months and bringing back apples and fresh pressed cider I thought this Apple Cider Moscow Mule was genius.

Planks, Love & Guacamole offers healthy paleo recipes that are all grain free, refined sugar free, soy free, chemical free and dairy free (she does use butter). I’m 3 for 3 on picking blogs of mom’s who astound me with how they are raising little humans and finding the time to feed them delicious things. Read this bloggers “about me” page and check out her choice of photo. That’ll tell you a bit about her playful sense of humor. When I think about grain free diets I worry about not being able to enjoy pizza but this blog has a great recipe for a NY Style Pizza. Pizza is one of my favorite comfort foods. I didn’t even realize that I had unconsciously picked two pizza recipes to feature on this post until I just typed all this out just now.

Make that 4 for 4 because the Chef in Disguise is also a career woman and mother who miraculously is still finding time to blog and cook. I find these three female bloggers inspirational and plan to do better because they are showing me that if they can find the time and make food magic happen… so can I. The Chef in Disguise is a chef after my own heart. What I love about this blog is that she’s Palestinian but grew up in Jordan and now lives in the Emirates so she features a lot of recipes of things I grew up eating because although I’m Armenian, my maternal grandmother was born and raised in Lebanon, my mother was born and raised in Iraq and my father was born in raised in Syria so my palette is accustomed to all the middle eastern dishes on this blog. When I was a child on the weekend my parents would make Fool (aka Fool Medames) but I didn’t like it back then (I love now) so my parents would make my sister and I Mamounia instead. I think I’ve made this a total of two times as an adult because now it’s a little too sweet for me, but I have been craving it lately so I’ll be having some over the holidays. We put Armenian string cheese on top of the hot mamounia and let it melt and then sprinkle some cinnamon on top, but seeing the Chef in Disguise’s use of pistachios blew my mind! I love pistachios and had never seen mamounia served up this way! That’s what I love about her blog! It helps me see these dishes that I’ve grown up on in a whole new light.  Guess what I’ll be eating this weekend!

What food blogs do you follow that I should know about? Share the love!

 

One thought on “Four Food Blogs that Make me Drool…

Leave a Reply

