The month of Gold…(we all know, Gold is Best!)

il_fullxfull_494072596_dwuz

We’re already well into my favorite month of the year and I’m trying to savor every tiny bit of it. If you’re wondering why October is my favorite I explained it a while back here. Living in Southern California we don’t get an all out, in your face Fall season. Temperatures are still in the mid 80s-90s so I can’t exactly bust out the scarves, flannels and boots yet! You really have to look for the  subtle signs of autumn and trust me Mother Nature is trying and if you seek hard enough, you shall find. A couple days ago as I was driving down Fairview Street I noticed the leaves on the large trees in the center median that had begun changing their colors! I found myself silently rooting for them in their struggle to complete their natural cycle by allowing their leaves to change colors and fall….Isn’t it sad when nature is the underdog you find yourself rooting for?

This month marks my 3 year anniversary at work. I swallowed my financial pride and took a small pay cut when I accepted this unglamorous job because it placed a “Senior” in front of my previous title. Yes, you read that right, It was a title promotion, but salary demotion. Sometimes the rungs on the career ladder move laterally, diagonally or make no sense at all. This was one of those times. I figured getting my foot in the door would open up future possibilities for me. After 1.5 years of keeping my head down and working hard, a new position was created and I was asked if I’d like to be considered! JACKPOT!  I knew I was working out of class in the new position so I decided to prove I could perform. My boss has taken notice of all I’ve been doing and has begun talking to me about a possible promotion. I took a gamble when I took this job and the risk ended up paying off because in 3 years I’ve moved up 2 rungs and increased my salary!

On an unrelated note, one thing I’ve observed in my 3 years here is that every year in mid-September/early October we get invaded by arachnids. I’m not talking about a few spiders we can stomp on and move on with our lives. No, we get BIG spiders. The kind that appear on our windows and allow us the opportunity to marvel at their fuzziness, the kind that spin and weave large beautiful webs that make me realize why spiders and spiders webs are such an integral part of Halloween decorations. The only blessing here is that 99% of the time these spiders don’t enter our office building which is good for me, but bad for our crews that work outdoors. I’ve also noticed my beloved Hummingbirds that were all over this place 6-7 months ago are all gone and have been replaced with dragonflys!

Dragonfly-1

Although Hummingbirds are still my #1, Dragonflies are pretty darn awesome too! Dragonflies and Damselflies are probably the prettiest of all insects. Once again I think I’m only attracted to these because they are rare and pretty. They have translucent yet colorful wings seperated by their long bodies. My favorite memory of a dragonfly moment happened in Cuba when I got on an elevator with a woman and a dragonfly followed us into the elevator. Before we had a chance to panic or react it made a U-turn and left us just as abruptly as it had appeared. The woman looked at me and said “dicen que es suerte” so to this day when I see one I say to myself “they say it’s good luck”.

Last year, I made a little run through of my awesome October…here’s how this year’s October is looking.

  • I began working out at OrangeTheory to get some cardio in and jump start my weight loss.
  • 1 year anniversary of Lasik vision correction
  • Started seeing a nutritionist to evaluate if my eating habits can be cleaned up
  • I began mentoring a 16 year old female
  • Tea with girlfriends at the Biltmore
  • My adorable niece’s 2nd birthday
  • Amy Schummer and Aziz Ansari live at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
  • We finalized our living trust and will
  • Luke Bryan, Dustin Lynch and Randy Houser at the Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
  • Birthday dinner with the Mr. at one of the 8 restaurants I told him to pick from. He’s picky : )
  • Road Trip to Indian Wells with the husband/dog for a work conference (making it a mini vacay)

To help myself cope with the ending of my favorite month I usually have something grand happening in November to give me something to look forward to. This year I’m looking forward to driving out to Las Vegas with my husband and dog where we will be staying for 5 days. We stay with my aunt in her beautiful home in Summerlin and we’ll get to visit my cousin who just had a baby girl a couple months ago… I can’t wait to meet the newest member of our family… Baby E!

Leave a Reply

