Lay off! I’m hungry

About 4  years ago one of the most talked about Super Bowl commercials was a Snicker’s commercial that was part of their  “You’re Not You When You’re Hungry” campaign. The ads featured grumpy people portrayed by famous people like Betty White, Joan Collins and Aretha Franklin, but once they were handed a Snickers they quickly returned to being their normal selves. It wasn’t lost on me for a single second that the grumpy characters they turned into were females. There are so many stereotypes about women being bitchy nags who nag (BNWN). I’m not saying it’s untrue. I know some of these BNWN and you know what….they’re all skinny toothpicks OR on diets! Newsflash: Women are hungry!

Think about it…. almost every female in our society is either on a diet or anorexic! Grouchy and grumpy should be expected when our social norms are dictating that slender and skinny are the ideal body types. If things were different, if being a full-figured woman was the standard and the number 1 was added in front of the clothing size of every fashion model I would bet the farm that our lives would be easier & more plesant because females would be in better moods. No more bitchy boss ladies or unfriendly store clerks. Does anyone think I could be right about this?

If you’ve ever been a fan of Saturday Night Live, I’m sure you’re familiar with this Gap Girls clip with Chris Farley.

cbaa6cede9acf607783040944ec8085d

When I find myself feeling off kilter and having patience is a bit more of challenge than usual, I begin wondering if I might be hungry. I ask myself when the last time I ate something was and more often than not, I realize I do in fact need a snack! We apply this to children so why not adults? Children have “snack time” why don’t we? When a child is acting cranky adults say “It’s her feeding time” well? what about our feeding time? Babies are just mini people so why do we succumb to their feeding schedules and understand their need for sporadic meals and snacks throughout the day but not our own?

This information can be so useful to men, the next time you girlfriend, mother, sister, wife or daughter is acting “off” instead of asking them if they’re PMS-ing hand them a protein bar or bag of carrots but don’t think you’re off the hook! You’re just as guilty misters. I was having issues with a negative Norbert at work and what I came to find out is that he used to be a much heftier individual but had gastric bypass or some similar procedure prior to my coming on board. This tidbit of information was all I needed to know. The poor sap was just hungry! Somebody must have said something to him because now whenever I see him he’s carrying a snack. It’s made a world of difference. He’s now become one of my favorite colleagues because he’s always smiling, jovial, funny and a downright hoot to be around!

The term “Hangry” has even been coined (Hungry+Angry) to describe what people are exhibiting as a result of their hunger. There are meme’s about ignoring what people said or did when they were hungry. Even Jesus himself got grouchy and irrational when he was hungry. Here’s a direct passage from the bible that reflects just how dangerous hunger can make us all….EVEN JESUS.

Early in the morning, as Jesus was on his way back to the city, he was hungry. Seeing a fig tree by the road, he went up to it but found nothing on it except leaves. Then he said to it, “May you never bear fruit again!” Immediately the tree withered. Matthew 21:18-22 NIV

Kind of harsh Jesus. Just saying… I’m sure if Jesus hadn’t been hungry he would have realized that perhaps he had happened upon the tree during non-fig season or felt bad for the barren tree and just moved along without cursing the innocent fig tree. The moral of the story is ….. Hunger can make us do some crazy-ass things so carry a damn snack!

Leave a Reply

