PSA: Get over that ex… and Get on with it!

 

Image from graphics99
Image from graphics99

I am notorious for falling in love with songs for their rhythm or beat without paying the slightest attention to what the lyrics are about. Often I’ll totally fall for a song and it’s not until someone else is around while I’m listening to it and they point out the racy lyrics that I realize that not all lyrics are made equal…. Ahem! 112- Anywhere I’m looking at you! In case you’re wondering this quiet, chill song is NOT appropriate for your family road trip playlist. I guess the fact that I don’t pay attention to lyrics is also the reason why I’m notorious for absent-mindedly singing the WRONG words. A lot. Once while driving home from work I was zoning out and just singing along and the following lyrics shot out of my mouth “You’re a poltergeist” I immediately did a double take because those are NOT the words to Foreigner’s song! This is not an isolated incident it happens so often, that my friends and family have come to expect wrong lyrics out of me. A couple of weeks ago as I sat in my cousin Mel’s car she immediately told me she was going to have to play a certain song for me because the lyrics were so apropos for me. As the song came on I said “Ohhhh, I’ve heard this song, I like it!” She said “Have you listened to the words?” of course I had not…. well it was Vance Joy’s song Riptide and there’s a section in the song that says:

I love you when you’re singing that song and
I got a lump in my throat because
You’re gonna sing the words wrong
(DOH!… that is soooo me!)

I listen to my iTunes and Spotify playlists while I’m at work and recently realized a lot of the songs I like have lyrics that are about getting over an ex. I finally actually paid attention to the lyrics to Florence and Machine’s – Hurricane Drunk and wondered where the heck that song was 10 years ago when I could have related to it. Here’s an excerpt from that song.

I’m going out, I’m gonna drink myself to death
And in the crowd I see you with someone else
I brace myself ’cause I know it’s going to hurt
But I like to think at least things can’t get any worse

Nope, that song wasn’t around yet but Jojo’s Too Little Too Late and Leave (Get Out) were and those two songs really helped me find my strength. I credit those two songs with giving me the balls to finally stand up to a “man” almost 10 years my senior who as Jojo would say was “just a waste of time”.

Then last month while driving to work and listening to the radio I actually HEARD the words to Lady Antebellum’s new song Bartender and all I could think was “YES! This is what women need to do to get over their asshole ex-es!” What’s funny about this situation is I’m married to an amazing man, we never fight, argue or hurt each other so I feel like these songs are useless to me, but I can see how powerful and helpful they could be for single people still involved in the dating game because, unfortunatley it is just that isn’t it? A bunch of stupid games people play with other people’s feelings & emotions.

Here’s what Lady Antebellum’s song Bartender has to say for the newly single ladies.

8 o’clock on Friday night I’m still at home
All my girls just keep on blowing up my phone
Saying come on, he ain’t worth the pain
Do what you gotta do to forget his name
Now there’s only one thing left for me to do
Slip on my favorite dress and sky-high leather boots
Check the mirror one last time
And kiss the past goodbye

What I’m really needing now
Is a double shot of Crown
Chase that disco ball around
‘Til I don’t remember
Go until they cut me off
Wanna get a little lost
In the noise, in the lights

Hey bartender pour ’em hot tonight
‘Til the party and music and the truth collide
Bring it ’til his memory fades away
Hey bartender

Do you relate to or connect with any of these songs? What are your favorite “over that asshole songs?”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “PSA: Get over that ex… and Get on with it!

Leave a Reply

