Conflicting Guilt

How do you do it? How do you protect your joy? How do you suppress what you know to keep it from making you the most depressed person in the world?

MM

I can’t seem to visit Twitter, Facebook or my favorite news websites anymore without the things I read causing my blood to boil.  I feel exactly like this image of Mickey Mouse. When you think of Mickey Mouse you think about a Happy go lucky mouse who lives in the “Happiest Place on Earth”. I want to be a happy go luck mouse, but I cant because I’m conflicted, sad, angry and completely ridden with guilt.

I viewed this video  on Youtube yesterday and  IT BREAKS MY HEART! I can’t stop thinking about them and how much their lives have been impacted by a pointless politically fueled conflict. How am I supposed to process what this little girl said about constantly feeling hungry while foraging in the dirt for bread crumbs? How am I supposed to register that while my biggest worry today was what to make for dinner and whether I should watch “The Men Tell All” episode of The Bachelorette or to polish off Season 2 of Orange is The New Black that this little girl’s worries are trying not to get “struck” like her mom and finding enough morsels of bread to quiet her grumbling tummy? I feel powerless and guilty for not being able stop their pain and suffering.

That video only depicts the situation of one family, but think  about all the civilians in Iraq, Syria, Afganistan, and Gaza whose live have been turned upside down… for what? Land? Power? Egos? Religion?

We each get one go around in life. One chance to exist on this planet and live a life. Many of us get to be healthy and happy while others have to suffer through wars and illness.  We can be our own salvation if we all learn to get along and treat each other as equals GOD DAMN IT!

Leave a Reply

